library logolibrary name and vision

Home > Information Desk > Pathfinders and Reading Lists


Pathfinders and Reading Lists

All publications listed below are in Adobe PDF (Portable Document Format). To view them, you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer (all library computers have Adobe Acrobat Reader). If you are viewing from your home or office and need Adobe Reader, click the Get Acrobat button below to download a free copy of the reader.

Get Adobe Reader

Award Lists

Pura Belpré Awards (Youth - Latinos and Spanish Speaking)
Bram Stoker Awards
Randolph Caldecott Medal (Youth - most distinguished picture book/illustrations)
Coretta Scott King Awards (Given to African American author for outstanding inspiration and education)
Edgar Mystery Awards
Hugo Awards
National Book Awards
Newbery Medal (Youth - most distinguished American children's book)
PEN/Faulkner Awards
Michael L. Printz Award (excellence in Young Adult Literature)
Pulitzer Prize: Fiction
RFK Awards
RITA: Romance Awards
Stonewall Book Awards (Gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered experience)

Booklists (Adult)

African American Fiction
African American Fiction Authors 2010
Best Books of 2011
Child Called "It" Readalikes: Fiction
Child Called "It" Readalikes: Non Fiction
Christian Fiction
Da Vinci Code Readalikes
For the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
China Non-Fiction and Novels
Contemporary British Fiction
Dysfunctional Families
Dystopian Fiction
Fantasy for Tolkien Fans, Hispanic Authors, Dean Koontz, Janet Evanovich
Gothic Novels
Gothic Plays
Gothic Poetry
Gothic Short Stories
Harry Potter Readalikes for Adults
Health Topics
Hispanic Authors
Historical Mysteries
Historical Mysteries Author List
Holiday Books
If You Like Jane Austen....
The Immigrant Experience
Library Journal's Best Books of 2004
Library Journal's Best Books of 2005
Library Journal's Best Books of 2006
Library Journal's Best Books of 2008
Library Journal's Best Books of 2009
Mad About Madmen
Magical Realist Fiction
Murder by Toaster
New Hispanic Fiction 2005
Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction: Animal Kingdom
Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction: History & Biography
Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction: Memoirs
Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction: Science
Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction: Travel
Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction: True Crime
Notable Books 2005
Notable Books 2006
Notable Books 2007
Notable Books 2008
Nuevos libros en español 2012
Pulitzer Prize 2006
Paranormal Romance
Sherlock Holmes: Biographies of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Other Non-Fiction Works
Sherlock Holmes Fiction

Booklists (Youth)

Bedtime Story Picture Books
Dragons in Children's Literature
Fantasy for Grades 4-6
Fantasy for Grades 6-8
For the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Halloween Lists
Harry Potter Readalikes for Youth
Native Americans Reference List
Science Project Reference Guide for Youth Services
Sherlock Holmes: Mystery Stories for Young Detectives
Youth Historical Fiction Books

Booklists (Teen)

Adventure
A Casket Full of Good Reads: Vampire Novels for Teens

Classics
Express Yourself @ Your Library - Fiction
Express Yourself @ Your Library - Non-Fiction
Fantasy
Gay & Lesbian Books for Teens
Graphic Novels
Harry Potter Readalikes for Teens

Hispanic Heritage
Historical Fiction
Mystery
Non-Fiction
Realistic Fiction
Romance
Science Fiction
Supernatural
Teen Fiction Titles
Teen Pregnancy Fiction
Teen Selected Graphic Novels
Teen Titles 2006

Teens Around the World

Bookmarks

Adventures with Dewey - the 500's (Youth)
Adventures with Dewey - the 900's (Youth)
Authors who write about India
Child Called "It"

Desperate Wives
Explore the Dewey Decimal System (Youth)
Jeanne Dams and Sara Hoskinson Frommer
Left Behind Series
Library Hours (English and Spanish)
Mystery Authors
Ralph McInerny
S.D. Tooley/Other Authors You Might Like
Vampire Novels for Teens
We're on the Web

En Español

Libros en Audio: Ficción y No-ficción
Libros Nuevos en Español 2009: Ficción y No-ficción

Libros nuevos en Español 2010

Pathfinders (Adult)

African Americans in Hammond
Arab Americans in Hammond
Gardening
Germans in Hammond
Government Information
A Guide to Crocheting & Knitting
A Guide to New Technology for Parents/Adults (new 2014)
A Guide to New Technology -- For Seniors
A Guide to Parenting (revised 2014)
A Guide to Scholarships & Financial Aid (revised 2014)
Health Research
Holidays (Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa)
Home Buying
Jewish Heritage
Jobs
Legal Information
New Technology
Parenting
Personal Finance
Researching your Hammond Home
Scholarships and Financial Aid
Starting Your Own Business (revised 2007)

Pathfinders (Youth)

Native American Tribes

Staff Picks

Fall 2006:
Adult Fiction
Adult Non-Fiction
Young Adult Fiction

Summer 2006:
Adult Fiction
Adult Non-Fiction
Children's Fiction
Children's Non Fiction
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Non Fiction

Winter 2006/2007:
Adult Fiction
Adult Non-Fiction
Children
Teen

Spring 2007:
Staff Picks

May 2007:
Staff Picks

Summer Reading 2007:
Staff Picks

Fall 2007:
Staff Picks

Spring 2008 Staff Picks

Summer 2008 Staff Picks Staff Picks II

Spring 2009 Staff Picks

Summer 2009 Staff Picks

Autumn 2009 Staff Picks

Winter 2010 Staff Picks

Spring 2010 Staff Picks

Summer 2010 Staff Picks


Hammond Public Library, 564 State Street, Hammond, Indiana 46320, (219) 931-5100
http://www.hammond.lib.in.us